Innovation

Art of engineering abreast with science.


Who would have thought how important lithium-ion batteries have actually become in the last couple of years? We have recognized the signs of our times and developed a unique product that is applicable to the latest industrial energy storage challenges. 

Advanced technology also means ongoing development. In order to provide highest quality and efficiency now and in the future, we are steadily improving our products. Recognizing future trends and implementing novel standards is our day-to-day business. COMMEO will confidently accompany you into the future. 

technology

lithium-ion batteries


Lithium-ion battery technology has fundamentally changed our lives: from smartphone to electric vehicle to large-scale energy storage. The points of contact are numerous. However, lithium-ion battery does not equal  lithium-ion battery. There is a multitude of cell chemistries (i.a. iron phosphate, titanate or NMC) that use the same basic principle, yet provide completely different advantages in application. It is Commeo's job to evaluate your individual challenge and accordingly choose the most suitable cell chemistry. 

     

thermal management


The lithium-ion cell is a true power house. However, if you want to use a lot of power in a short period of time, large amounts of heat will occur. It is crucial to efficiently dissipate that heat to make the battery module just as powerful as the single cell. Using an innovative, passive cooling system, Commeo is able to withdraw very high currents from each energy storage block.

controls


Operational surveillance of battery related parameters is crucial for the safety of the lithium-ion technology. Due to our quality aspiration we chose to develop our own, highly modern battery management system (BMS). The BMS is an essential part of each block monitoring all relevant safety parameters with a high frequency and accuracy and providing a digital interface to all associated systems.

     

interconnection


The modular concept of Commeo enables you to freely choose a voltage level without having to give up any amounts of energy or power. Our innovate interconnection topology provides several hundred possibilities on just one energy storage rack. Feel free to use our configurator and explore your individual energy storage solution by Commeo. 

     

configurator
research & development

quality and product optimization


We realize our high aspirations regarding quality and product optimization via our own testing equiment for cells, battery modules, power electronics and battery management systems. Within our electronic testing laboratory our products are tested in temperature controlled environments to provide reliable and transparent performance results for our customers. Simultaneously, we are able to simulate and evaluate novel battery chemistries, which enables Commeo to immediately implement technology advances into new products.

future prospects

converter technology


The importance of bidirectionality of an uninterruptible power supply is steadily growing. Why should your UPS system not be able to participate in the energy management of your company? That is why we develop a novel converter technology, which is easily implemented in the modular concept of Commeo and which will be available in 2018. 

     

new cell technologies


Already there is a multitude of cell chemistries in lithium-ion technology. Lithium iron phosphate, titanate and nickel-manganese-cobalt-oxide are just a few examples of facilitated active materials. Within the near future, the importance of silicon on the anode will rise. Solid-state batteries are pushing towards market maturity. Double layer capacitors are being increasingly used in high power applications. Our experts develop and evaluate new generations of our energy storage block with latest cell technologies.

new IT standards


There is change occuring in the IT sector, especially regarding the design and power of server racks. Under the organisation of the Open Compute Project (OCP) engineers from several renowned global companies develop a common standard for the power supply and UPS integration directly in the IT rack. Commeo considers all OCP requirements within the development of their products in order to stay compatibel with IT infrastructure in the future.

     

expansion of charging infrastructure


Electromobility will only work, if there is a correspondingly broad network of charging stations. Subsequently, what will happen if there are several cars using the ability to fast charge at a given location simultaneously? The grid will have to undergo serious fluctuations, which need to be taken care of. In this case, a large-scale lithium-ion battery system is able to decrease local power peaks in demand. In cooperation with our partners, we develop conclusive energy storage concepts of charging locations.

Innovation

Ingenieurskunst auf der Höhe der Zeit.


Wer hätte vor ein paar Jahren ahnen können, welche Bedeutung Lithium-Ionen Batteriespeicher einmal haben könnten? Wir haben die Zeichen der Zeit erkannt und ein Produkt entwickelt, das durch sein einzigartiges Konzept für modernste Anwendungsbereiche geeignet ist. Spitzentechnologie bedeutet Weiterentwicklung. Um Ihnen jetzt und zukünftig höchste Qualität und Effizienz bieten zu können, arbeiten wir an der steten Verbesserung unserer Produkte. Am Puls der Zeit und mit dem Blick in die Zukunft erkennen wir Trends und neue Standards, die schon bald unseren Alltag prägen werden. Mit Commeo sicher in die Zukunft!

Technologie

Lithium-Ionen Batterien


Die Lithium-Ionen Batterietechnologie hat unser Leben grundlegend verändert: vom Smartphone über das Elektrofahrzeug bis hin zu Großspeichern, die Berührpunkte sind zahlreich. Lithium-Ionen Batterie ist jedoch nicht gleich Lithium-Ionen Batterie. Es existiert eine Vielzahl an Zellchemien (z.B. Eisenphosphat, Titanat oder NMC), die sich dieser Technologie gleichermaßen bedienen und doch völlig unterschiedliche Vorteile mit sich bringen. Commeo hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Ihre Anforderung zu bewerten und die für Sie optimale Zellchemie auszuwählen.

     

Wärmemanagement


Die Lithium-Ionen Zelle ist ein wahres Energiebündel. Will man jedoch sehr viel Leistung in kurzer Zeit abrufen, entsteht auch viel Wärme. Diese Wärme gilt es effizient abzuführen, damit das Batteriemodul genauso leistungsfähig wie die einzelne Zelle ist. Durch ein innovatives, passives Kühlsystem gelingt es Commeo jeden einzelnen energy storage block auch dauerhaft mit sehr hohen Strömen zu belasten.

     

Steuerung


Die Lithium-Ionen-Technologie muss im Betrieb sehr sorgfältig überwacht werden. Aufgrund unseres Qualitätsanspruchs haben wir uns daher entschieden ein eigenes, hochmodernes Batterie-Management-System (BMS) zu entwickeln. Dieses BMS ist ein fester Bestandteil jedes einzelnen Blocks, überwacht mit hoher Frequenz und Genauigkeit alle sicherheitsrelevanten Systemgrößen und bietet ein digitales Interface zu angeschlossenen Systemen.

     

Verschaltung


Das Baukastenprinzip von Commeo ermöglicht es Ihnen, Ihr benötigtes Spannungsniveau frei zu wählen ohne auf Energie oder Leistung zu verzichten.  Durch unsere innovative Verschaltungstopologie sind auf einem einzigen Energiespeicher-Rack mehrere hundert Möglichkeiten gegeben. Mithilfe unseres Konfigurators können Sie sich auch für Ihre individuelle Anforderung eine Lösung von Commeo vorschlagen lassen. 

     

Zum Konfigurator
Forschung & Entwicklung

Qualität und Produktoptimierung


Hohe Ansprüche an Qualität und Produktoptimierung verwirklichen wir durch unsere eigenen Prüfstände für Zellen, Batterien, Leistungselektroniken und Steuerungssysteme. In unserem elektronischen Prüflabor testen wir unsere Produkte mithilfe modernster Kühl- und Temperiersysteme, um transparente Leistungsdaten für unsere Kunden abzuleiten. Gleichzeitig können wir neue Batterie- und Speicherchemien simulieren und überprüfen, um Technologiesprünge der Zelle unmittelbar umzusetzen. 

Blick in die Zukunft

Converter Technologie


Die Bidirektionalität einer unterbrechungsfreien Stromversorgung spielt eine immer größer werdende Rolle. Warum sollte Ihr Energiespeicher neben seiner USV-Funktion nicht gleichzeitig an Ihrem Energiemanagement teilnehmen können? Deshalb entwickeln wir gemeinsam mit unseren Kooperationspartnern eine neuartige Convertertechnologie, die sich fließend in den USV-Baukasten der Commeo einfügt und ab 2018 für Sie verfügbar sein wird.

     

Neue Zelltechnologien


Schon jetzt existiert eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Zellchemien in der Lithium-Ionen Batterietechnologie. Lithium-Eisenphosphat, -Titanat und -Nickel-Mangan-Cobalt-Oxid sind nur einige Beispiele für eingesetzte Aktivmaterialen. In absehbarer Zukunft wird auch Silizium auf der Anode eine immer größere Rolle spielen. Feststoff-Batterien, sogenannte Solid-State Batteries, nehmen an Bedeutung zu und drängen auf ihre Marktreife. Doppelschichtkondensatoren finden immer öfter bei sehr hohen Leistunganforderungen Anwendung. Unsere Experten entwickeln und validieren neue Generationen unseres energy storage blocks mit aktuellster Zelltechnologie. 

     

Neue IT-Standards


Die IT-Branche befindet sich im Wandel. Zur Zeit findet ein generelles Umdenken im Design von Server-Racks statt. Unter der Organisation des Open Compute Projects (OCP) entwickeln die Ingenieure vieler namhafter Weltkonzerne gemeinsam einen neuen Standard für die Energieversorgung und die Einbindung der USV direkt im IT-Rack. Bei der Entwicklung unserer Produkte berücksichtigen wir die erarbeiteten Anforderungen, um auch in Zukunft mit der IT-Infrastruktur kompatibel zu bleiben. 

     

Ausbau der Ladeinfrastruktur


Elektromobilität kann flächendeckend nur funktionieren, wenn ein entsprechend weitverzweigtes Netz an Ladesäulen existiert. Was passiert nun aber, wenn mehrere PKWs an einem Standort gleichzeitig das Netz durch die Schnellladefähigkeit belasten? Es kommt zu starken Netzschwankungen, die es abzufangen gilt. Hierbei kann ein Batteriespeicher vor Ort Abhilfe leisten. Gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern entwickeln wir schon heute Konzepte für eine ganzheitliche Lösung von Ladestandorten.